I hate you, I love you…

There are so many dimensions of being an elementary principal. Pieces I love, pieces I hate. Tune in for a brief description of each.

Likes

  1. Thinking of new ways to greet kids! We’ve done toe-taps, elbow bumps, and pinky shakes!
  2. Learning through growing and eating! Tower Gardens for the win!
  3. Walking through the Peace Path with kids
  4. Saying yesIMG_2687.JPG
  5. Subbing when we’re short staffed (shhhh!!)
  6. Walking into a classroom and a student asking me for help (just please no fractions)
  7. Receiving almost 400 smiles a day, and giving 100 more
  8. Reliving a story and sharing a moment, there are so many!
  9. The shared look between the secretary…you know them, there are many.
  10. Graduating our students to the middle school

Dislikes

  1. Opening fruit cups at lunch. Someone stop juice leaking madness!IMG_4377
  2. When kids cheat at tetherball. You can’t grab the string!
  3. Puddles. #kidmagnets
  4. Kids throwing up in front of their classmates…being sick is bad enough!
  5. Sticks, snow, and rocks. Cheapest and most lethal playground objects.
  6. Seeing my teachers long sticky note to-do lists
  7. Disappointing people who count on me, somedays there just isn’t enough time
  8. Losing sleep worrying
  9. PARCC testing
  10. Saying goodbye

What do you hate/love about your position? Leave me a comment below!


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

6 responses to “I hate you, I love you…”

  1. corzel1 Avatar

    I loved this so much!!! I could totally relate and it made me smile after a long week. Thank you!

    1. Lindsy Stumpenhorst Avatar

      What are your loves?! Thanks for reading!

  2. Todd Schmidt Avatar
    Todd Schmidt

    What do I love? That I get more hugs in a week than most people do in a year…God Bless primary students!

    What do I hate? Paperwork, sit-and-get PD at the district level, parents who don’t realize we are on the same team…

    You rock, Lindsy!

    1. Lindsy Stumpenhorst Avatar

      Yes Todd!!! You get me! #samepage!

  3. Kimberly Miles Avatar
    Kimberly Miles

    Every morning I greet students at the front door. Not only is this something I absolutely love and prioritize each day on a principal’s crazy schedule, but students also share jokes with me. They also know for those jokes that make me “truly have a belly laugh” they then get to write their name on my board in my office and will then be able to share them at our next assembly. It is a great way for students to engage in wordplay…and let’s be honest here it’s just plain hilariously fun.

Leave a comment