What’s Your Cinderella Story?

Disclaimer: This post has zero to do with education and everything to do with boots and roots.

I was 13. We traveled three hours. My parents said “Just try him out, I know he doesn’t have color like you want…but we want to see you on him.”

I humored them. I had no interest in a brown horse. It was February, he had a winter coat and I was less than impressed. Two weeks later, he was in my barn. I had a “make the best of it” attitude, and before long Buddy grew on me. Even his name, which I considered changing multiple times seemed to fit him just right.

In the following 5 years the two of us traveled from local fair to ABRA Worlds, from one side of the midwest to another. He gave me a countless number of belt buckles and I gave him a trip around the world (or at least what I felt like was the world at the time). I would get home from sports practice and he would be waiting for me, ready and willing to put in a few hours of work while interpreting my moody high school girl ways. I didn’t realize I loved him. He was mine. He was always there. He was taken for granted by me.

At the end of my high school career, I came home from work one day to find Buddy gone. I had no idea that the lady I had heard so little about from Florida was actually serious about buying him. It didn’t hit me at the time…but a few weeks later I remember sitting in my car feeling a sense of guilt. I was moving on to college and I had abandoned one of the only things that was always ready for my curve balls (note – my parents did their homework, they knew that Buddy’s new owner was going to spoil him rotten and give him an amazing opportunity to continue earning titles). I cried for a bit, and realized that it wouldn’t change anything. He needed someone who could give him what he deserved…I was no longer that person.

I thought of Buddy often in college. When I first signed onto Facebook as a Sophomore in college I remember looking up Buddy’s new registered owner…no luck. You know what did happen though? On August 11th, 2011 I had a Facebook message from someone who said “Hi Lindsy….are you Buddy’s owner that I bought him from back in 02? If you aren’t, sorry…but if you are, he says Hi!”.

She found me.

Years later with a new last name, she found me. We had a few conversations and I was content in the moment to live in envy of the photos she posted of my guy.

In April 2013, just before the Kentucky Derby, I posted my sincere dream to someday share with my kids the responsibility, freedom, and love that a horse can provide. A few days later I received the following message…

“Hi Lindsy….I will be retiring one of these days. I would love for you to have Buddy when the time comes. Even though he’s 18 this year, he’s healthy and certainly full of life and no way is HE ready to retire!. He is such a sweet boy. Only way he is leaving his home here is if he comes back to you. I have 1 thing in mind…if anything changes in your life and you couldn’t keep him, that he would come back to me.”

She loved him at much as me.

On July 5th, 2013 at 8:22am Buddy left Florida on a transport to come home.

On July 6th 2013 at 1:55pm I walked Buddy off the trailer. It had been 11 years since I had seen him. I walked him straight to the pasture and for the next hour he followed my every footstep. He remembered me. To this day I have no doubt. (Horses never forget people)

IMG_5264Today it’s August 1st, 2017 and on my Timehop there was a picture of my 9yr old”one year ago” showing Buddy at the local 4-H fair beside a picture of me…at the exact same fair 17 yrs earlier. This year, he decided showing wasn’t his thing, but all summer he has been doing chores and lov’in on my first love.

Today, one of my best friends lost one of her first horses. The pain I heard in her voice inspired me to write this post. I’ve been meaning to for a while…but there is something about keeping a secret to yourself that makes it even more special. I can’t keep it to myself anymore. Often I’m asked “when are you going to get another horse?”. Honestly. I can’t make promises….when I already have the best, how could I possibly consider replacing him? It makes my heart hurt to even consider it.

My dad said growing up…”Horses are the most expensive hobby you could ever have”. Truth be told….even he saw Buddy’s worth. When I broke the news to my parents that he was coming back, my dad said “If you’re going to get a horse, Buddy’s the one to get, can’t ask for a better one”.

Buddy is 21 years old. His birthday? Feb. 8th, 1996. My husband and I started dating on February 8th. It will forever be the most important date in my mind.

Cindy…you have nothing to worry about. Buddy has found his last home. Thank you for taking care of my guy. I am endlessly in your debt.

 

Edit: In 2017 Cindy passed from cancer. I didn’t even know until one of her friends ran across this post. I am forever in her debt. How can you repay someone who took care of your most prized possession?

IMG_5268.JPG


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

8 responses to “What’s Your Cinderella Story?”

  1. Donna Morris Avatar
    Donna Morris

    What a beautiful story, Ms Cindy Cate is a very special lady. May God continue to bless you all.

  2. Elizabeth Freeman Avatar
    Elizabeth Freeman

    Love this post! I am a fellow educator and equestrian. Your words ring so true and you are doing right by your friend Buddy. Enjoy your journey together!

  3. drannmaria Avatar
    drannmaria

    My favorite part is the picture with your nine-year-old! My youngest and oldest children are 15 years apart and those pictures where they are doing the same thing at the same age are precious.

  4. Wendy Zwieback Avatar
    Wendy Zwieback

    This story is so beautiful, it hits home with any little girl who grew up loving horses, and have had that one special horse in their life. I’m the friend of Cindys who contacted you. I miss her, she was a very special person and a true horsewoman.

  5. Kristy Louden Avatar

    This made me cry tears of joy! As a fellow midwestern horse rider (now a southern horse rider), I can relate to every single word. Thank you so much for sharing! I love following your story on Instagram as well! 🙂

  6. Rachel Kalinovik Avatar
    Rachel Kalinovik

    I’m bawling—happy tears and sad ones too. I’ve always loved horses, but being from a big city near Detroit, MI, I’ve never had the opportunity to have my own. I got the honor of working on Mackinac Island in Michigan two Summers ago however, and working with horses every single day solidified my love. They are the most wonderful, loving, and beautiful creatures on this planet (next to dogs, I have to say) and I can’t wait until one day when I can get out of the city and have a horse of my own. I’m sure Buddy is as happy to be with you as you are to have him back. ♥️

  7. […] September we close on our new home and it’s causing quite a few ripple effects. One of those being Buddy, my Cinderella Story. […]

  8. […] Today I said goodbye to my first real partner in crime (see here…and here) […]

Leave a comment